logofinal HEADER

eh&s Innovation Awards

The Verdantix award winners are selected by an independent jury of corporate EH&S managers and the awards are given to firms which have implemented innovative EH&S technologies

Submissions for the 2017 Verdantix EH&S Innovation Awards are now closed. Thank you to all who applied.

1 award icon website

Verdantix EH&S Innovation Awards 

The prestigious Verdantix EH&S Innovation Awards will recognize the people and organizations who are instrumental in launching successful, innovative technologies which facilitate management of the EH&S function to deliver superior results. There is no fee to apply. Winners of the 2016 awards were Archer Daniels Midland, Harley-Davidson, Keller Group, Repsol, Roanake, Smith & Nephew, Southern California Edison and The Cleveland Clinic. The awards are divided into ten industry categories:

• Chemicals
• Construction and building materials
• Downstream oil and gas
• Manufacturing
• Mining
• Pharma and healthcare
• Power and water utilities
• Public sector
• Transport and logistics
• Upstream oil and gas 

Note that technology and service providers who helped deliver the project are also recognized in the awards.

Verdantix is accepting nominations relating to a wide range of EH&S technologies including the following:

• EH&S data analytics
• Intelligent sensor networks for hazard communications
• Drones for industrial inspections and accident investigations
• Telematics and in-vehicle monitoring systems for improved driver safety
• Mobile devices running EH&S mobile apps
• EH&S software platforms
• Wearable sensors for worker safety
• Monitoring systems for worker fatigue and health risk assessment
• Virtual reality safety training
• RFID tags and QR codes for chemicals inventory tracking
• Digital permit to work systems
• Environmental data management, analysis and modelling
• Software for social compliance and stakeholder engagement 

Firms or their suppliers can submit their project information via the Verdantix Awards online survey. The deadline for submissions is March 17 and finalists will be informed by March 31. Winners will be announced at the Verdantix EH&S Innovation Gala Awards Dinner on May 16 at the JW Marriott in Houston. You do not need to be a Verdantix client to participate.

The Judging Panel

The judging panel will be chaired by Verdantix CEO David Metcalfe and will include Verdantix Global Head of Research Rodolphe d’Arjuzon and 5 external experts to be announced. No projects associated with members of the judging panel or their organization will be accepted as nominations.

Coming to the Verdantix Summit & Awards Dinner? 

To book your room at the JW Marriott, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Please state you are attending the Verdantix Summit to obtain a discounted rate (subject to hotel discretion and availability).

How to apply

How to apply

The only way to submit an entry is to use the online survey. Answer all of the questions relating to your project. The more information you share the better. The entry deadline is 11:59 p.m. EST on March 17, 2017. We will not extend the deadline, so please plan to have your entry in before the deadline.

Rules & Guidelines

Rules & Guidelines

The EH&S information management project you are nominating must be fully operational and must be able to demonstrate real improvements in EH&S performance and business performance. For example: reduced injury rates, faster data provision to decision-makers or reduced non-compliance costs.

Any project that began in 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016 is eligible.

We will judge the winners based on what the original the project was, the challenges you overcame to achieve it, the scale of the benefits relative to the scale of the organization and how impressive the project is relative to comparable projects submitted in the same industry category.

We may reclassify entries into different industry categories if it is a more appropriate fit given your business activities.

Vendors of EH&S software, product stewardship solutions and consulting services can submit applications based on the work they have done with their customers, but the vendors are responsible for obtaining the necessary permissions to submit those entries. In these cases, the Awards will mention both the customer and the vendor as Award winners. Any vendor communications must reference the Award as: “Through its successful project for CUSTOMER, VENDOR received a Verdantix EH&S Innovation Award.”

We will award at most one winner in each industry category, plus finalists if there were other great entries besides the winner. If there are no worthy entries in an industry category, we won't give an award in that category.

All winners will be announced on May 16, 2017 at the Verdantix EH&S Summit. Winners will be featured in Verdantix blogs and in a press release following the Verdantix Summit as well as receiving an award winner icon to use in marketing communications.

The content of all entries is provided by you on the record and can be quoted in Verdantix research, referenced at the Verdantix Summit and used in other Verdantix materials.

We will block entries that we think are inappropriate, including those containing obscenity or copyright violations.